Bolle Nova II Review

June 2, 2015
Bolle Nova II
2-21075_1100x586
3-2015-05-10_10.01.05
4-2015-05-10_10.28.10
5-2015-05-10_10.28.13
6-2015-05-10_11.28.06
7-2015-05-10_11.28.02
8-
Bolle Nova II 2-21075_1100x586 3-2015-05-10_10.01.05 4-2015-05-10_10.28.10 5-2015-05-10_10.28.13 6-2015-05-10_11.28.06 7-2015-05-10_11.28.02 8-
GEAR INSTITUTE RATINGS
88
Field of View
8
Fit
8
Anti-fog Power
8
Lens Quality
8
Frame
7
Value
9

The Good

  • Reactive lens that adjusts to the conditions
  • Large field of view in a medium-size frame
  • Triple-layer face foam that is very comfortable without being too thick
  • Great goggle for a very reasonable price

The Bad

  • Only one lens
  • Flexible, less rigid frame
THE VERDICT

The Bolle Nova II is an excellent single-lens goggle with exceptional optics and reasonably priced options. Bolle’s frame sizes run smaller than its competitors—what Bolle considers a “medium-large” size frame is medium (at best) for the market. It’s lightweight frame has an impressive field of view, plenty of venting, comfortble face foam, and a low profile. Price on the Nova II ranges from $49.99 to $139.99 depending on lens quality, but you don’t have to spend a lot for a great goggle. The models I tested (Green Emerald and Fire Orange lenses) are a great deal at $59.99.

FULL REVIEW

Venting/Fogging
We experienced no fogging during testing. There are vents on the top of the lens and all around the frame as well as anti-fog coating and a double-lens thermal barrier.

Field of View
The Nova II has a great field of view for a medium-size frame. There is no comparison to the “oversize” competition, but it is still impressive for the frame size.

Lens Quality & Options
Bolle’s optics are generally impressive and the Nova II does not disappoint. We experienced crystal-clear view throughout testing. However, choose your lens wisely (this goggle only comes with one lens) as low-light lenses left me squinting on sunny days and bright-day lenses were not great in low light.

Frame and Construction
The Nova II’s frame is lightweight and flexible. The low-profile design helps field of view while the face foam is soft and cushy for a comfortable feel. The frame fit well in all helmets tested.

Fit
This goggle is a great fit on my face and in my helmet. Gaper gap was not a problem but could be an issue with some helmets due to the medium-size frame.

 


Continue Reading
WHERE TO BUY
MSRP
$139.99
ALSO AVAILABLE AT
$95.89
*Your purchase helps to support the work of Gear Institute.
USER REVIEWS

No reviews have been posted for this product.

post