Gear Institute: Who’s Testing What

Gear Institute: Who’s Testing What

Want to see a product tested by the Gear Institute? Here’s a list of our testers (see below), and who’s handling which categories this year.

If you’re a PR professional be sure to sign up for our PR mailing list page to stay up to date on what tests we’re getting ready for.

Spring ‘13 Tests
Backpacks (Daypacks, 20-45 liters) (Men) – Tanner Jackson (tanner.jackson@gearinstitute.com)
Backpacks (Weekend packs, 50-70 liters) (Men) – Dan Nash (dan.nash@gearinstitute.com)
Cameras (Ruggedized/Weatherproof) — Billy Brown  (Billy.Brown@gearinstitute.com)
Car Racks/Boxes – Grant Davis (Grant.Davis@gearinstitute.com)
Climbing Helmets – Mike Schneiter (Mike.Schneiter@gearinstitute.com)
Climbing Ropes – Mike Schneiter (Mike.Schneiter@gearinstitute.com)
Climbing Shoes – Matt Samet (Matt.Samet@gearinstitute.com) & Andrew Bisharat (andrew.bisharat@gearinstitute.com)
Cycling Trailers (for kids) – Julian Smith (julian.smith@gearinstitute.com)
Dog Booties – Jennifer Coulter (Jennifer.Coulter@gearinstitute.com)
Dog Packs – Jennifer Coulter (jennifer.coulter@gearinstitute.com)
Fly Fishing Rods & Reels – Dan Nelson (Dan.Nelson@gearinstitute.com)
Helmet Cams, Point of View Cameras: Billy Brown (Billy.Brown@gearinstitute.com)
Hiking Shoes (low-cut) (Men’s) – Bob Lee (Bob.Lee@gearinstitute.com)
Hiking Shoes (low-cut) (Women’s) – Leah Gallant (Leah.Gallant@gearinstitute.com)
Hiking Boots
(mid-cut) (Men’s) – Bob Lee (Bob.Lee@gearinstitute.com
Hiking Boots (mid-cut) (Women’s) – Leah Gallant (Leah.Gallant@gearinstitute.com
Hiking Socks – Talee Roberts (Talee.Roberts@gearinstitute.com)
Dog Jackets (Insulated) – Jennifer Coulter (Jennifer.Coulter@gearinstitute.com)
Kayaks (play boats) – Eugene Buchanan (Eugene.Buchanan@gearinstitute.com)
Watches (ABC/Mountaineering watches): Billy Brown (Billy.Brown@gearinstitute.com)
Running Bras – Leah Gallant (Leah.Gallant@gearinstitute.com)
Running GPS Watches – Ben Fletcher (Ben.Fletcher@gearinstitute.com)
Running Shoes (Minimalist) — Donald Buraglio (donald.buraglio@gearinstitute.com)
Running Shoes
(Road) – Justin Nyberg (Justin.Nyberg@gearinstitute.com)
Running Shoes (Trail) – Justin Nyberg/Scott Boulbol (Justin.nyberg@gearinstitute.com, Scott.Boulbol@gearinstitute.com)
Running Strollers (for kids) – Julian Smith (julian.smith@gearinstitute.com)
Running Hydration Packs — Allison Pattillo (allison.pattillo@gearinstitute.com)
Running Shoes – Minimalist shoes  Donald Buraglio (donald.buraglio@gearinstitute.com)
Sleeping Bags (Men’s): Dan Nelson (dan.nelson@gearinstitute.com)
Softshells (Men’s): Tanner Jackson (Tanner.Jackson@gearinstitute.com)
Softshells (Women’s): Berne Broudy (Berne.Broudy@gearinstitute.com)
Stand Up Paddleboards – Steve Doviak (Steve.Doviak@gearinstitute.com)
Stoves – Craig Rowe (craig.rowe@gearinstitute.com)
Sunglasses – Erinn Morgan (Erinn.Morgan@gearinstitute.com)
Tents – Car Camping – Doug Schnitzspahn (Doug.Schnitzspahn@gearinstitute.com)
Tents – Backcountry — Ryan Stuart (ryan.stuart@gearinstitute.com)
Waterproof Stormshells (Men’s): Ryan Stuart (Ryan.Stuart@gearinstitute.com)
Waterproof Stormshells (Women’s): Berne Broudy (Berne.Broudy@gearinstitute.com)

Fall ’13 Tests (yep! we’ll test ’em as soon as your samples come in)
Avalanche Beacons – Craig Dostie (Craig.Dostie@gearinstitute.com)
Avalanche Airbags – Craig Dostie (Craig.Dostie@gearinstitute.com)
Baselayers (men) – Jeff Burke (Jeff.Burke@gearinstitute.com)
Baselayers (women) – Erinn Morgan (erinn.morgan@gearinstitute.com)
Cameras: Ruggedized/Weatherproof: Billy Brown (Billy.Brown@gearinstitute.com)
Car Racks/Boxes – Grant Davis (grant.davis@gearinstitute.com)
Climbing Skins – Craig Dostie (Craig.Dostie@gearinstitute.com)
Cross Country Skis/Boots – Jeff Ellis (Jeff.Ellis@gearinstitute.com)    
Fleeces – (Women’s)  – Leah Gallant (Leah.Gallant@gearinstitute.com)    
Helmet Cams, Point of View Cameras: Billy Brown (Billy.brown@gearinstitute.com)    
Hiking Boots (Insulated) — Leah Gallant (leah.gallant@gearinstitute.com)    
Insulated Bottles  – Talee Roberts (talee.roberts@gearinstitute.com)    
Insulated Jackets – Down/Synthetic Sweater (Men’s): Ryan Stuart (ryan.stuart@gearinstitute.com)    
Insulated Jackets – Down/Synthetic Sweater (Women’s): Berne Broudy (berne.broudy@gearinstitute.com)    
Insulated Jackets – Puffies (Men’s) Ryan Stuart (ryan.stuart@gearinstitute.com)    
Insulated Jackets – Puffies (Women’s): Berne Broudy (berne.broudy@gearinstitute.com)    
Mountaineering Watches (ABC watches): Billy Brown (Billy.brown@gearinstitute.com)    
Running Shoes (Trail) – Justin Nyberg/Scott Boulbol (Justin.nyberg@gearinstitute.com, Scott.Boulbol@gearinstitute.com)    
Running Shoes (Road) — Justin Nyberg (justin.nyberg@gearinstitute.com)    
Running Shoes – Minimalist shoes  Donald Buraglio (donald.buraglio@gearinstitute.com)    
Ski Bindings – Alpine Touring – Jordan White (jordan.white@gearinstitute.com)    
Ski Boots – (Women’s Alpine) – Megan Michelson (megan.michelson@gearinstitute.com)    
Ski Boots – (Men’s AT/Backcountry) – Jeff Burke (jeff.burke@gearinstitute.com)    
Ski Gloves – Bob Lee (bob.lee@gearinstitute.com)
Ski Jackets – Resort (Women) – Leah Gallant (leah.gallant@gearinstitute.com)
Ski Jackets – Resort (Men’s) – Frederick Reimers (frederick.reimers@gearinstitute.com)
Ski Socks – Talee Roberts (talee.roberts@gearinstitute.com)
Skis (Alpine) – Jean Marc Blais (jm.blais@gearinstitute.com)
Snowboard Bindings – Ali Carr Troxell (ali.troxell@gearinstitute.com)
Snowboard Boots – Ali Carr Troxell (ali.troxell@gearinstitute.com)
Snowboard Jackets – (Women) – Ali Carr Troxell (ali.troxell@gearinstitute.com)
Snowshoes – Steve Conney (steve.conney@gearinstitute.com)

post